Welcome to Powerfullight

Mercury Retrograde Calendar for 2022

Mercury Retirograde Path in the Sky, copyright 2018 Roman Oleh Yaworsky

This drawing illustrates the path of Mercury in the sky and the different stages of the Mercury Retrograde Cycle. Each stage is color coded, and the corresponding dates are shown in the Mercury Retrograde Calendar, below.

Mercury Retrograde Calendar, 2019  www.powerfullight.com

The 5 Significant phases and Stations of Mercury Retrograde.

January 2022 Mercury Retrograde in Aquarius

The first retrograde of 2022 is in Aquarius. The shadow, the opposite Sign is Leo, which suggests that changes and movement forward may be held back by the results of conflicting self-centered outgoing leadership challenges.The previous Retrograde in Aquarius occured in January 2016 and 2021

Please note that this calendar begins on a Monday.

Mercury Retrograde Calendar, January to April 2021.  Copyright 2020 by Roman Oleh Yaworsky, www.powerfullight.com

The first Mercury Retrograde of 2022 begins with the Pre-Shadow in Capricorn on December 29, 2021 at approx. 9:29 am Universal Time*, 4:29 am EST, 1:29 am PST.

Mercury goes Retrograde in Aquarius (10º 20') on January 14, 2022 at 11:41 am Universal Time, 6:41 am EST and 3:41 am PST.

The Direct Station occurs in Capricorn (24º 23') on February 4, 2022, at 4:13 am Universal Time, and on February 3 at 11:47 pm EST and 8:47 pm PST.

Mercury ends the Post-Shadow on Feb 24 in Aquarius at 6:01 am Universal Time, 1:01 am EST and 10:01 pm PST on April 25.

May 2022 Mercury Retrograde in Gemini

The last Mercury Retrograde in Gemini occured in May of 2015 and 2021. Sagittarius is the shadow, the opposite Sign. It suggests that errors with assumptions and challenges with international travel may complicate this retrograde.

Please note that this calendar begins on a Monday.

Mercury Retrograde Calendar, May to August 2020.  Copyright 2020 by Roman Oleh Yaworsky, www.powerfullight.com

The second Mercury Retrograde of 2022 begins with the Pre-Shadow in Taurus on April 26 at approx. 6:42 am Universal Time*, 2:42 am EDT and 11:42 pm PDT on April 25.

Mercury goes Retrograde in Gemini (4º 52') on May 10 at 11:47 am Universal Time, 7:47 am EDT and 4:37 am PDT.

The Direct Station occurs in Taurus (26º 05') on June 03, at 8:00 am Universal Time, 4:00 am EDT and 1:00 am PDT.

Mercury ends the Post-Shadow ends in Gemini on June 18, at 10:46 pm Universal Time, 6:46 pm EDT, 3:46 pm PDT.

September 2022 Mercury Retrograde in Libra

The last Mercury Retrograde in Libra occurred in September of 2015 and 2021. Aries is the shadow of Libra, which suggests that unilateral actions may disrupt harmony.

Please note that this calendar begins on a Monday.

Mercury Retrograde Calendar, September to December 2020.  Copyright 2020 by Roman Oleh Yaworsky, www.powerfullight.com

The Third Mercury Retrograde of 2022 begins the Pre-Shadow in Virgo on August 20 at 9:09 pm Universal Time*, 5:09 pm EDT, 2:09 pm PDT.

Mercury goes Retrograde in Libra (8º 55') on September 10 at 3:38 am Universal Time, 11:38 pm EDT and 8:38 pm PDT on September 9.

The Direct Station occurs in Virgo (24º 12') on October 2 at 9:07 am Universal Time, 5:07 am EDT and 2:07 am PDT.

Mercury ends the Post-Shadow in Libra on October 17 at 4:38 am Universal Time, 12:38 am EDT and 9:38 pm PDT on October 16.

December 2022 Mercury Retrograde in Capricorn

The last Mercury Retrograde in Capricorn occurred in October of 2015 . Aries is the shadow of Libra, which suggests that unilateral actions may disrupt harmony.

Please note that this calendar begins on a Monday.

Mercury Retrograde Calendar, September to December 2020.  Copyright 2020 by Roman Oleh Yaworsky, www.powerfullight.com

The Third Mercury Retrograde of 2022 begins the Pre-Shadow in Virgo on August 20 at 9:09 pm Universal Time*, 5:09 pm EDT, 2:09 pm PDT.

Mercury goes Retrograde in Libra (8º 55') on September 10 at 3:38 am Universal Time, 11:38 pm EDT and 8:38 pm PDT on September 9.

The Direct Station occurs in Virgo (24º 12') on October 2 at 9:07 am Universal Time, 5:07 am EDT and 2:07 am PDT.

Mercury ends the Post-Shadow in Libra on October 17 at 4:38 am Universal Time, 12:38 am EDT and 9:38 pm PDT on October 16.

Using the 2020 Mercury Retrograde Calendar

The Mercury Retrograde phenomenon occurs as we observe Mercury's movement from the vantage point of the earth.

Since Mercury is closest to the Sun, it moves much faster relative to the earth. While it is on this side of the Sun, it appears to move forward in the sky. When its orbit takes it to the other side of the Sun from our perspective, it begins to go back against the sky.

As Mercury's orbit is about to change from being in front of or behind the Sun, it appears stationary in the sky. From our vantage point, we are looking tangentially along the ellipse of its orbit.

The Pre-Shadow Phase

The two weeks or so that Mercury traces its path in the sky that it will later traverse during the retrograde is referred to as the Pre-Shadow phase. Often, this phase, through errors, avoidances, or false assumptions, sets up the retrograde phase that follows. In the calendar, it is blue. As Mercury slows down as it approaches its Retrograde Station, the effect strengthens. This part of the Pre-Shadow is in violet on the calendar.

The Retrograde Phase

As Mercury is about to change direction and move from behind the Sun, it seems to hang in the sky. That is the Mercury Retrograde Station. During the next two and a half weeks or so, Mercury appears to be moving backward against the sky. Closer to the Retrograde Station and later when it nears the Direct Station, it moves much more slowly, and therefore these times will be more intense. In the calendar, this is shown with a darker color.

The Retrograde Phase is famous for the errors, omissions, and misunderstandings that tend to show up.

The Post Shadow Phase

The Post-Shadow Phase occurs as Mercury enters that part of its orbit that takes it in front o the Sun from our point of view. During the Post-Shadow, Mercury is passing over that part of the sky where it had earlier been retrograde. It is indicated in brown.

In the Post-Shadow, errors, false assumptions we or others may have made earlier can also be revealed. During the first few days, Mercury is still moving slowly, adding intensity to this phase. In the calendar, this is a darker shade of brown.

Working Through the Retrograde Process

The Mercury Retrograde process affects us on many levels. There is little we can do due to the cumulative actions of others, except to use our discrimination and avoid getting caught up in it.

However, on a personal level, there is much we can do. It is an opportune time to finish those things that we left undone previously. It is wise to back up important files and to tie up loose ends.

The retrograde is excellent for introspection, creative writing, and contemplation. It is also beneficial to address how we individually contribute to the phenomenon by acting from our own shadow, where we are reactive, and where our actions come out of need or out of unresolved past issues.

If you seek to take advantage of this time, I healthfully recommend this book. It will clarify the practical steps you can take to reclaim the integrity with your core.
Being Centered.

A more detailed explanation of the Mercury Retrograde Cycle can be found here:
The Mercury Retrograde Cycle

 

Please note: all times are approximate. The actual times may vary due to parallax.

* Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) replaced Greenwich Mean Time in 1961.

To convert to your time zone, subtract an hour for each time zone you are west of UTC and add an hour for each east of UTC.

Note that all of the times are calculated from the center of the earth. For the Pre-Shadow and Post-Shadow times, the actual time may vary by serveral minutes due to the parallax of your location.